Election commission to announce Assembly elections dates for five states today

Posted on by Saurav Khanduri

Assembly elections dates: Election commission of India will announce today the dates of assembly election in five states-  Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Goa, and Uttarakhand. The dates will be announced by the Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi at noon during a conference. In a conference, he will also announce the last date of filing nomination, when each state will vote, phases, if any, and the day of counting.

Election commission to announce Assembly elections dates for five states today

 Assembly elections dates: Election commission held a meeting with chief electoral officer

Election Commission on Tuesday held a meeting with Chief Electoral officer of the five poll-bound states- Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa to fine tune arrangements.  The main focus of the meeting was Manipur’s law and order where Naga groups are protesting and blocking the ways.

EC may hold a seven-phase poll in Uttar Pradesh and single-phased polling in the four other states. Seeing tense situation in Manipur, EC may hold elections in multiple phases in the north-eastern states.

  The terms of the legislative assembly of Goa, Manipur and Punjab will expire on March 18, Uttarakhand expires on March 26 and the term of UttarPradesh’s legislative will conclude on May 27.

Election commission to announce Assembly elections dates for five states today

750 companies of paramilitary and 100 companies belong to states will be deployed

The Election Commission had written to the state government and state education boards to frame their election schedule in consultation with the EC. On the other hand, Union Home Ministry will provide around 85,000 security personnel for deployment in the five poll-bound states during assembly elections.

Union home secretary Rajiv  Mehrishi told that the ministry would provide around 750 companies of paramilitary forces for conducting elections peacefully in the five states. And, around 100 companies, most of which belong to State Armed Police Forces and India Reserve Battalions will also be drawn from different states for deployment of election duties. Talking about a total assembly seat in that states, Goa has 40 seats, Manipur has 60, Punjab has 117, Uttarakhand has 70 and UP has 40 assembly seats. The Code of conduct will come into the effect after a press conference.



Leave A Response