Women Big Bash League: Harmanpreet guides her team to First Win

Posted on by Kamalpreet

Harmanpreet Kaur became the first India women player to inducted internationally. The Indian captain continued to impress her team selectors. While playing the Women big bash league in Australia, she carried her team to first win single-handedly. The match was held at Lavington sports club in Albury on Tuesday. Harmanpreet played impressively and took her team to victory. Meanwhile, Melbourne Stars, after winning the toss, started decently.

Harmanpreet Weaved magic spell of 4 for 27

Harmanpreet Kaur

But, three wickets in three overs took the momentum away. However, Katie Mack and Jess Cameron formed a 57-run stand for the fourth wicket. Meanwhile, Harmanpreet’s magic spell of 4 for 27 turned the game. The team’s spirits were up when they dismissed Melbourne stars on a modest total of 116. During the Women big bash league match, Melbourne at one point was 90 for 3. But, a clever bowling by Harmanpreet got Stars under pressure.

Sydney Thunders chased the target without any difficulty


Sydney Thunders on another hand continued the momentum in their batting. Though, the target was achieved without any hesitation. Rachael Haynes and Stephanie Taylor added 50 runs for the opening stand. After the opener’s departure, Harmanpreet and Alex completed the rest. During the Women big bash league, Kaur played excitingly. She struck three fours and two sixes, during 21 balls 30.

Next matches of Women Big Bash League

With the win, Sydney Thunders moved to the fourth spot. Melbourne Stars are behind them in the points table. Next match of Women big bash league is between Sydney Thunders and Adelaide Strikers on December 16, on Friday. On another hand, Sydney Sixers will face Melbourne stars on Saturday.

Scorecard of Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder

Brief Scores: Melbourne Stars 116/9 in 20 overs (Jess Cameron 36, Katie Mack 26; Harmanpreet Kaur 4-27, Samantha Bates 2-21) lost to Sydney Thunder 121/2 in 18.5 overs (Rachael Haynes 35, Harmanpreet Kaur 30*; Gemma Triscari 1-10) by eight wickets.

Source: Cricbuzz


Leave A Response